Q: Is the DYNASTY Official Rulebook available in pdf format?

A: NEW! DYNASTY League Baseball Official Rulebook 2012

NEW! Pitcher rest rule extension:

Starting pitcher rest on page 9 of the Official Rulebook has been changed from:

0- 1 IP   1 days rest


0-4 IP    2 days rest

Starting pitchers can't be removed before pitching 5 IP if the starting pitcher has not allowed an earned run and is not tired.

Pitcher batting has less than 60 AB

If the pitcher batting has less than 60 AB, the pitchers on the mound facing the pitcher batting all have situation JAM ratings in effect just to face the pitcher batting even if the pitcher on the mound does not have a JAM situation rating.

Q: Where can I find any Errata?


Q: I have a couple of questions about the 1957 season: First, and most
importantly, are the players accurately 'carded' on their ability to hit vs. RHP and vs LHP, or is it generic? i.e., both sides are the same.

Michael Bolyog
Camarillo, CA

A: Yes, both hitters and pitchers have actual vs. LH and vs. RH split data included in the new color 1957 season re-release.

All season sets have the actual vs. LH and vs. RH batting breakdowns and vs. LH and vs. RH pitching breakdowns. 

Q: Where can I find box scores and schedules for past seasons for  the Best of Baseball Series?

A: Retrosheet: Box Scores, Schedules, Lineups and League Leaders


Q: How can I track player usage?

A: Each player should update the player usage report below:

Player Usage Report

Q: Infield Range Chart key clarification:

A: In the Infield Range Results key:
added Pitcher and Catcher to the following sections of the key:

Infielder In, P and C

Infielder In, P and C

Off-Balance Throw!
Infielder In, P and C

Note: The new 4th edition charts already have this clarification in place for the GREEN Infield IN results.

What this clarification does, is to have the Pitcher or Catcher make the play at home for the above plays only when a runner
is at 3rd.
If there is no runner at 3rd or an infielder is not IN you would use the BLACK results for when 3rd is empty.

This seems to make more sense since the play would be in front of
the pitcher and his first reaction would be to come home. It doesn't effect
the actual range of the pitcher or catcher so there is no reduction. Pitcher
and Catchers can't be moved in obviously and are always considered back,
so their range is never reduced like other infielders.

Q: You Hit & Run and get the strikeout range on the pitchers card but you are not an A-1B. The result is strikeout-runner must steal. This we all know, however, what if you Hit & Run and you rolled in the range for the UMPIRE. If the result of the Umpire chart is a strikeout, does the "runner must steal" come into effect here as well? What if it is a JAM situation and a non-Clutch Hitter is at bat and you roll in the 13th line of the pitchers card which becomes a strikeout, does the "runner must steal" come into effect here as well?

A: Yes, on a H&R play the runner must attempt to steal with the Ė2 adjustment on any strikeout result.

Q: If you Hit & Run and you get the "strikeout-runner must steal", the STEAL chart says the result for the steal is -2 to the steal rating. Is the -2 in addition to the pitcher/catcher combo, just the catchers arm or neither?

A: On all steal results except steal of home, you use both the pitchers hold rating and catchers throwing rating to determine the result of the play. On a steal of home you just use the pitchers hold rating.

Q: On the BUNT chart there is no results if you want to call a "safety squeeze" (not running until contact) if you are trying to get a man in from 3rd. I realize most will say that the play is a suicide squeeze but there are those that just wait until contact. Is this "safety squeeze" built into the "sacrifice hit" numbers or just didnít make the charts?

A: There is no distinction at this time between a safety and suicide squeeze. With a runner on 3rd if you decide to send the runner it is considered a suicide squeeze. If there are runners on 1st and 3rd, you can call for a sacrifice and have the runner on 1st advance to 2nd and hold the runner on 3rd.

Q: When is the roof closed for the new retractable roof ball parks?

Kevin Hennessey
St. Paul, MN

A: Each Ball Park has itís own quirky guidelines for when the roof is
closed, some teams just saying the owner has the final decision, but below
are the general guidelines.

Marlins Park
Roof closed when temperatures are in the 90's, 80's or rain (roof close temperature is 70's).

Minute Maid Park

Roof closed when temperatures are in the 90ís or rain (roof closed
temperature is 70ís). Wind unaffected.

Safeco Field
Roof closed when there is rain. (roof closed temperature the same as
outdoors). Wind unaffected.

Bank One Ball Park
Roof closed when temperatures are in the 90ís or rain (roof closed
temperature is 70ís). Wind unaffected.

Roof closed when there is rain or snow. (roof closed temperature is 40ís or 30's).
No Wind when roof closed.

Q: Mike Bordick was up against a right hander in a non jam situation. Runners were on second and third. The defense called for the infield to play in at the corners. The roll was 352, normally a hard ground out to second. The way the rules have been explained before, the reverse type applies if the corners are in or the entire infield is in making this roll a single to left field. The opposition says it is a hard ground ball to second because only the corners are in and the second baseman is playing in a normal position. Just the corners being in would have no impact on the second baseman's ability to field the ball.

Bob Wieler
Richardson, TX

A: When I originally designed the Infield In results, I paid less attention to the corners in strategy in assigning positions for the hitter's card Hard Ground Out results since that is almost always used when a bunt is anticipated, whereas bringing the the Infield In is used to prevent a runner from third from scoring.

First off, the decrease in the range results by -3 when the "infield is in" provides the majority of the "penalty" for bringing the infield in. The 3b and 1b being effected when the "corners are in" and the whole infield effected when the "infield is in"

The more I thought about this I realized that when the "corners are In", that for the purpose of the situational "Infield In" results any time line 14 on the hitters card comes up and either the "infield is In" or the "corners are in" the special situational result should take effect: rf GROUND 1B lf (?) (since the game design never addressed positions specifically for infield in situational results).

Note: Dan Mintz asked a question related to this when for example with a "ss Hard Ground Out 2b" result and a RH pitcher on the mound, why does the Ground 1B go into left field when the ball is hit to 2b. The answer is that the normal situational results and all other situational results and not related. They are different play results that occur depending on the change in the situation.

Q: Could you please settle a dispute for us. Here is the example: Neifi Perez has a 60% (Minor League callup %) and he is on my team at the beginning of the season. After his 60% is up he cannot be used for the rest of the season. If I make the playoffs can he be used for 60% of the playoff games or is he done (0% for the playoffs)?

David Dobrzynski

A: Typically each new playoff series is treated as a separate "season". So in Perez's case he would be available on the roster for 60% of the games. The same is true with AB use ratings although they are reduced by the % of length of the playoff. So if you are playing a 7 game series, the player would be available for 4% ( 7/162) of his Use rating AB's.

Q: Can a manager hit and run with 2 outs? Those of us from the Don Zimmer school of managing will H&R with bases loaded, two outs, and in pretty much any situation we can! Some think it should be allowed with 2 outs to gain the +6 baserunning advantaqge instead of just the +1 2-out advantage.

A: There seems to be more confusion over the H&R play than any other play. Partly, there is a misunderstanding of what a H&R play is and when it can be implemented. You can H&R with 2 outs, however you do not add on the normal +1 addition as stated on the Baserunning chart.

The penalty for using the H&R includes:

You can H&R only with runners on:

In all other situations you can't H&R.

The Run & Hit play, which is not included in DYNASTY, is a different play that is used to try to advance a runner from 3rd to home. Sort of like a suicide squeeze without actually bunting.

Q: If a Jam pitcher in a jam situation throws a home run result to a non-clutch hitter who is hitting and running, what should the result be? By the rules, it appears the home run would turn into a deep fly since the Jam deep fly precedes the hit and run (foul?) on the hitter's card. This doesn't seem to make sense. It seems to us that the results should be flipped, with hit and run (foul?) coming first in the sequence.

A: I would tend to agree on this one. On this particular play, we are considering instituting a special rule for where the play result would be a strike and the runner must steal.

Q: If we are playing a fractional season, are injuries also reduced (i.e., if we are playing an 81 game season, would we halve all injury results?)? How about Bizarre Play results? Are those reduced or kept as written even in shortened seasons?

A: This is answered on page 7 of the Official rulebook.

Q: Clutch/Jam rules seem to be too simple. If his team is up 10-1 in the 4th inning, why would a hitter/pitcher be clutch/jam with a man in scoring position and two outs? Teams in the lead shouldn't receive clutch benefits.

Thanks for your help. We look forward to another fun season!

Abhishek Gami

A: The thinking here is that RSP/2outs is always a clutch situation because of the importance of this situation in driving in runs. While it's very true that the score does not dictate that this is a clutch situation, it does happen that teams comeback from 10 run deficits. As Whitey Herzog would frequently say when asked why his team would steal with a large lead and anger opponents, "They don't stop hitting HR when they have a big lead, why should we stop stealing bases?"

Q: Hello:
 I am the commissioner of a 5 team league we call the B.U.M. League
(Baseball's Ultimate Managers) We have just wrapped up our season using the 1998 card set, but before we get the 1999 card set and begin the new season, two questions have come up. First of all, Andres Gallaraga has just finished the second year of his regular phase contract (3 years, option for 4). He clearly will be on the Braves' spring training roster when they release in a few weeks, and thus would qualify to be in our league when we begin play. The problem is, though, that he will not have a card in the 1999 set. My question is how to handle this situation. Should his contract with his current team in our league be abolished, or must this team keep him (and pay him) for the upcoming season since he will be on the spring training roster? The same situation has comeup with Kerry Wood, who has just completed the first year of his prospect contract, and Tom Gordon, who did play last season but not enough to receive a card. I have found nothing in the rule book regarding this and thought you might be able to help.


A: Refer to page 11 #5. It's a tough pill to swallow, but MLB teams have to honor contracts with injured players as well. The team will still have to pay him even though he does not have a card.

  Q: Do you have suggestions for situations when a manager reads the wrong result on his player's card and then, later in the game, realizes his mistake?

A: This is sort of like batting out of turn, if you don't catch it right away you are really in a situation where you have to continue play as is. If it was a major gaffe, the Commissioner could accept a protest and the game have to be replayed from the point where the mistake was made. Of course, if it affected you and you won anyway you'd let it go.

Q: When a minor league phase player or a prospect player are traded to teams outside the player pool, are they also removed from the league?

 A: Yes.

Q: This has been asked a couple of times and due to the wording on answers, I ask that you be patient as I ask this question one more time.  Can you play your first baseman in AND hold the runner at the same time?  Yes or No.

Thanks for the great game.  I'm looking forward to the 57 & 99 seasons. Keep up the great work!

Rick Queary
Fat Elvis Baseball Collective
Ft. Worth, TX

A: No.

Q: We have some confusion on the short reliever rest.  Is it possible for a short reliever to go 1 inning on day one, 2 innings on day two, and 3 innings on day three, then rest?  My reading of the rule is the day he pitches 2 innings puts the short reliever in the two consecutive day situation.  So if he pitches 2 innings on day two, he is forced to rest. Could you please clarify?

  A: Yes, your reading of the rule is exactly right.

Q: Under the current catcher rest rule, would a catcher who caught the night before a day game be forced to use the RR rating if ONLY used as a pinch hitter? 

  A: No.

Q: What if he plays a position other than catcher (first base, for example)?

  A: Yes.

Q: Since the number of at bats each pitcher accumulated was not printed on the cards for 1999, and a pitcher can pinch hit if he has 60 or more at bats, do you have any plans to at least list the pitchers who qualify for pinch hit duty?

A: A good source for Pitcher AB is the STATS Handbook. You might also use IP as a guide. Use the formula below:

(IP/9)*3.1 AB

Become a fan of DYNASTY League Baseball Online

DYNASTY League Baseball and Pursue the Pennant on Facebook

                                                       Home | Ticket Window | Subscribe